IMG_2775

How To Make Waffles From Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pancake Mix

IMG_2773

When it comes to baked goods and making foods like waffles, I don’t like to mess around.

It makes me nervous experimenting with foods containing flours, but my teens wanted waffles and I wanted the waffles to be gluten free.  So I ordered some Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pancake Mix because I figured, “Hey, I’ve always made waffles from some kind of pancake mix.”

There wasn’t a recipe on the bag for waffles.  So I had to do some research.

Some recipes called for buttermilk.  I hate using recipes calling for buttermilk because they ask for a cup or less, and then I end up letting the rest go bad, sitting unnoticed in the back of my fridge for months.

Other recipes called for ingredients I didn’t have on hand or had directions that were way too complicated.

C’mon… they’re waffles.  Even gluten free waffles shouldn’t be complicated to make.

After reading a bunch of recipes and not wanting to try any of them, I decided to experiment, using the few clues I had read about online:

1)  Separating the eggs is important.

Beating the egg whites separately gives the waffles that light, airy texture that you come to expect from yummy waffles.

2)  Add cinnamon.

Because different flours are used (sometimes originating from beans), some people experience an odd aftertaste.  I guess it depends on the person, as people’s tastebuds differ.

3)  Use a waffle iron that creates deep pockets, such as a Belgian waffle maker.

I have two different waffle makers (neither of them Belgian), and the one with the higher bumps created the better waffle.

IMG_2777

These waffles were crisp on the outside and light and airy on the inside.  Perfect.  Not too sweet and no weird aftertaste.

I used the pancake recipe on the bag as a base for my experimental recipe.

1 1/2 cups Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pancake Mix
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
2 tablespoons butter, melted
3/4 cup whole milk, room temperature*
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 eggs, room temperature* and separated

*Room temperature isn’t necessary, but the ingredients shouldn’t be extremely cold.  Cold ingredients will cause the butter to solidify a bit and, thus, become a pain in the ass to combine thoroughly.

Mix the dry ingredients in a mixing bowl.

Mix the butter, milk, vanilla, and egg yolks. Then add to the dry ingredients and mix well.

In a mixer (or with a hand mixer), whisk the eggs whites until stiff peaks form.

Fold the eggs whites into the batter, but do not mix thoroughly.

IMG_2772

Use this batter in your waffle maker, per your waffle maker’s instructions.

Serve with butter and maple syrup, or with sliced fruit and fresh whipped cream.  Or all of the above!

IMG_2776

To make homemade whipped cream, I use:

16 ounces heavy whipping cream
1/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Add together in a mixer and whip until fluffy.

My teens are very particular when it comes to baked goods, but they love these waffles, and we’ve made them quite a bit now.  The mix is even great made following the directions on the package for pancakes.  Honestly, I like these pancakes better than the wheat flour-based ones.

I just received my white rice flour and pizza crust mix from Amazon the other day.  With the rice flour, I’m going to try making blueberry muffins and apple cinnamon muffins.  And, apparently, cinnamon rolls made from that pizza crust mix are really good, so I’m trying that, too.  I’ll let you know if they turn out good.  :)

In the meantime, enjoy the waffles!

15 thoughts on “How To Make Waffles From Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pancake Mix”

  1. I just came across your recipe this morning during a search. I saw your comment about buttermilk. I am not sure if you are aware that you can make buttermilk by using regular milk. The recipe is this: pour 1 TBL of lemon juice in a measuring cup fill the rest of the way with milk up to 1 cup mark. Stir and let sit for 5 min +. Stir a few times during the sitting and you have the same as buying buttermilk. You can also use white vinegar to replace the lemon juice. I use this all the time when I make my homemade biscuits and they turn out as beautiful as if I had used store bought buttermilk.
    I will be trying your recipe this morning. Sounds delicious, just going to add some blueberries into ours.

    1. Thanks, Lew! I came across that trick just recently but have not tried it yet. I love buttermilk biscuits but we’re trying to eat more Paleo, which means no flour-based goods. I haven’t found a Paleo recipe yet for biscuits, though, I am sure there are many out there now. :)

      Make sure to come back to let us know how the recipe turns out for you! Especially with adding blueberries. I’d be worried I’d smash the blueberries! lol

  2. We just tried your recipe and it was FANTASTIC!! We have a Belgian waffle iron and they really came out super fluffy. Thank you for sharing your expertise! :) I look forward to reading more from you.
    Also, we used almond milk and they were nutty tasting and super light.

    1. Thank you for visiting and reviewing! :)

      I am so glad they turned out well for you. I have not tried almond milk in this recipe yet, but I have tried it with coconut milk, and it did turn out lighter and fluffier than with milk.

      I really need to update this post. :)

      I have also been using coconut sugar to make the homemade whipped cream, and it tastes *so* much better. Sort of like a caramelized sugar taste, like crème brulee!

  3. New to cooking gluten free, but this recipe was exactly what I was looking for when I was staring at the pancake mix wondering how to make it into waffles.
    NOTE!: Normal waffles take longer to cook than these, in my waffle maker these were done within 4 mintues! (and crisp already)

    1. Hi, Chelsea! Thanks for visiting!

      Yes, these do take a much shorter time to cook than normal waffles. Good thing, too, as my toddler and teens sit impatiently waiting when I make them. :)

      I did try these last week using coconut milk instead of milk, and they turned out much lighter. I will have to add that update soon. My daughter said she liked them much better this way!

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

