No Chick Flicks, Please.

My favorite movie is The Thing – the Kurt Russell version.  My other favorite movie is the remake of Dawn of the Dead (2004).  I don’t watch chick flicks.  Okay, I normally don’t watch chick flicks.  Yes, I’ve seen 27 Dresses and Leap Year and was surprised that I liked both of them, but I won’t voluntarily watch a chick flick.

I like horror and sci-fi movies.  I love being scared.  When I was little, I used to stay up late watching those old Vincent Price movies.  I’d sit through the whole movie with a blanket pulled up to my eyes, enjoying every bit of my terror.

I’m still occasionally scared of the dark.  Okay, the dark scares the crap out of me all the time.  I hate when my husband has to go out of town for work, and I have only my toddler to comfort me at night.  My teens are on the other side of the house, and I know they wouldn’t hear me scream.  They have their air cleaner running loudly, and my son sleeps like a log anyway.

I don’t get to watch movies all that often anymore, so I may just review my own collection for a time.  However, I would love to hear from readers.  In your opinion, what is the best zombie or horror flick that you’ve watched so far?  I’m talking about flicks that made you nervous to sleep in complete darkness for several nights after watching it.

MJ

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

