Bad, Bad, Bad ADD Day…

This was my list of things I had to do today:

Leave house at 8:30 a.m.
Daughter’s orthodontic appointment at 9:00 a.m.
Afterward, go to optometrist so daughter can try on sample glasses.
Then, go to Trader Joe’s for Thanksgiving grocery shopping.
Take son for haircut.
Go to Target for more grocery shopping for stuff I can’t get at TJ’s or it’s too expensive at TJ’s.

Yeaaaahhh… I’m surprised I made it home in one piece. Why do I do this to myself?

Let me explain. Having an ADD brain is like having a limited number of folders in your filing cabinet. And each folder itself has limited capacity. Plus, I’m stressing about Thanksgiving. I’m only making dessert, but that’s about all I can handle now that I have a toddler underfoot.

I don’t handle stress well either. My brain literally melts down, and I usually get really sleepy and sometimes fall asleep. At one point early in our marriage, my husband said to me, “I hate getting into fights with you. I don’t know what to do. You just lay down in bed and fall asleep while I’m trying to talk to you.” We don’t really have Fights. We have disagreements, but it’s just enough to make my brain shut down.

Anyway, back to today. I usually only schedule one errand a day if I can help it. Again, I don’t know what I was thinking when I scheduled today in my head.

On our way to the haircut from Trader Joe’s, I tried to get on the freeway. Tried. Oh yeah, I made it on the freeway all right but my mind was somewhere else, so I took the wrong freeway exit in the wrong direction. Out loud I said, “Great. We’re going to Tucson.” (Tucson is about 2 or 3 hours south of where I live.) The kids were like, “Wait… What???”

So I had to find an exit where I could turn around and go the right direction.

Then… THEN I was driving on the freeway (heading in the correct direction) and I got over into the far right lane, thinking it was the far right lane of the freeway. Nope. Wrong again. It was an exit lane.

So I had to follow it, get off the freeway, and then do a u-turn to get back on the freeway. My kids, who are usually used to my occasional extreme flightiness, asked me, “Mom? Are you sure you’re okay?”

We’re home now. We’re okay. I’m okay. I hate leaving the house.

I promise I am not a crappy woman driver. I hate crappy drivers, and they’re one of the many reasons why I hate leaving the house. My mouth is worse than a sailor’s when I’m in the car because of crappy drivers. It’s a wonder my kids’ first word didn’t start with the letter M or F.

Anyway, I’m in the safe confines of my home now. My son has a doctor’s appointment tomorrow. Across town. Thirty minutes away.

MJ

2 thoughts on “Bad, Bad, Bad ADD Day…”

  1. I have struggled with ADD for as long as I can remember. I know exactly what you describe. For some reason I have fought the idea of taking medication for it. After this stressful year I just survived, I am seriously thinking about it. Do you take ADD medication?

    1. I apologize for the delayed response. It didn’t show up on here but only in my email which I just checked today!

      No, I don’t take any medication. I’m still breastfeeding. But I do strongly suggest trying a diet change first. I know cutting gluten out of my diet has done wonders although I am dealing with gluten withdrawal – that I’ll write a post about soon.

      I recently stopped my one cup of morning coffee because I don’t need it anymore to focus. I take Vitamin D3 and Omega3 supplements also.

      Do a little research on diet and ADD. I’ll be writing about it soon too! Good luck and thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

