Primal Urges

I started my foray into the world of “Healthy Living” earlier this year.  A bunch of things happened, so I can’t remember which event really prompted me to start.

Our otherwise healthy 8-year-old shepherd cattle-dog mix was diagnosed with lymphoma in March.  We had to put him down by April.  It was devastating for all of us.

Then we found out my cousin was diagnosed with breast cancer, a very aggressive form.  Both my mother and my aunt (my cousin’s mom) are breast cancer survivors.

I started having heart palpitations that really freaked me out.  The first thing my PA did was to run some blood tests.  I found out my vitamin D level was dangerously low.  There are some recent studies looking into links between vitamin D deficiencies and breast cancer.  I also found out that I should really start taking fish oil supplements or start eating a lot of fish.

We were also dealing with our toddler suddenly breaking out in welts all over her body one day, and it wouldn’t go away.  One morning her face was swollen.  After wracking our brains for weeks and seeing the doctor, we finally narrowed it down to the use of a particular baby soap that had changed its formula.  This particular brand totes that its products are pediatrician and allergy tested, natural and organic.  Do you know what they added to their products that made my toddler break out?  Sodium Benzoate.

Just do a Google search.  All I needed to know was that my toddler had a frighteningly severe allergic reaction to it.  She didn’t get to the point of breathing difficulties but the face swelling was enough to scare her doctor.  Even after stopping the use of the product, it took almost two months for her skin to clear up completely.

I set out on a mission to clear out as many chemicals from my home as possible.

It’s not possible.

Not by a long shot.  It’s possible to lessen the amount of chemicals in your household, but that’s all you’re going to get.  Hopefully, that will be enough.  I’ll go into more detail in future posts.

Then while searching for ways to brush your teeth without the use of chemical-y toothpastes and mouthwashes, I came across the website Mark’s Daily Apple.  You can read more about The Primal Blueprint here.

I’ve never been one to go on a diet.  I think they’re ridiculous and don’t work.  And I HATE exercise.  As I’ve mentioned before, I have ADD.  If you have ADD, have you ever tried running on a treadmill or riding a stationary bike?  Have you tried reading a book or watching TV while doing these things?  It’s mentally painful, isn’t it?  I just can’t do it.

What if I told you that all I did was stop eating one thing and I don’t even exercise, and I was able to lose all my pregnancy weight and then some?

First, let me tell you this.  I gained over 40 pounds with my last pregnancy.  Granted I breastfeed, so that helps to burn calories.  But I couldn’t shake that extra 10 to 15 pounds that I wanted.

I stopped eating flour – anything and everything that was made with flour.  Okay, now that I think about it, I did stop eating more than one thing.  I stopped eating potatoes and corn as well.  I stopped drinking soda.  I stopped eating and drinking anything with refined sugar in it.

You may ask:  Well, what the hell?  What is there left to eat???

Meat, vegetables, fruits, dairy, and nuts.

When the weight started melting off – and it did start melting off fast! – I added brown rice into my diet.  That’s the only grain I eat.  I do cheat now though.  And I cheat often but my body burns it off pretty quickly.

And I’m not saying people shouldn’t exercise.  It just doesn’t have to be the strenuous, boring workouts that most people do.  Read Mark’s page and it will explain more.  My “exercise” of preference?  Gardening, hiking, leisurely walks, and running after my toddler.

From the recipes I post to the natural cleaners and personal products I will be talking about, you’ll see that it’s not that difficult or expensive to be healthy.  I’m cheap and I’m ADD “lazy.”  If I can do it, ANYBODY can do it.

MJ

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

