Brown Rice Pudding. It’s Yummy – I Promise!

IMG_2409I’ve always thought rice pudding looked like bug guts or alien guts.

In my mind, Rice + Pudding = Just Gross.  Until I tried this recipe.

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, brown rice is pretty much the only grain I try to eat.  After awhile, I got bored with making it plain and making fried rice out of it and I wanted something sweet, so I found this recipe and tried it.

I still won’t try regular rice pudding but I will eat this.  My two teens who are fairly picky love this stuff and ask for it regularly, especially when the mornings are cold.

The original recipe can be found at Joy the Baker.

It is a little time consuming but totally worth the effort.  If you make it according to the original recipe, the consistency is like oatmeal.  If you make it my way, it comes out more creamy and custardy.

1 cup organic short grain brown rice

Soak in water overnight.

4 cups water
½ teaspoon sea salt
Soaked rice

Bring water to a boil in a large saucepan on high heat.  Stir in rice and salt.

Simmer on medium heat uncovered for about 30 minutes.

Take off heat and cover.  Let steam for 10 minutes.  Set aside in a separate bowl.  If there is any excess water, strain and set aside in a separate bowl.

See this is the thing with ADD.  While I’m cooking, I usually forget steps but keep on going.  Honestly, you could just put the water, rice, and salt together and start the boiling process.

I also never time anything because I’ve learned from having ADD that I should never, ever, EVER leave the kitchen while I’m cooking.  This is how I learned to be a better cook and quit burning things.

Even if there is excess water, I don’t strain the rice, nor do I put it in a separate bowl.

Let’s keep going.

2 tablespoons butter
3 cups whole milk
1 cup heavy whipping cream
2-3 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons honey
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cinnamon stick

Combine all these ingredients.  Bring to a low boil, stirring constantly.  Add cooked rice and stir often.  Cook on low to medium-low for about 30 minutes.

Remember you can add all those ingredients and the rice and start the low boil, stirring constantly.  It’s more like a simmer; you don’t want a rolling boil.

Cook, and stir often until pudding is thick and creamy.  Keep in mind it will thicken more when it cools off.

Top with bananas, strawberries, raspberries, or whatever fruit you prefer.  You can eat it cold, but I prefer it warm.

Get a bowl of this stuff and cuddle up on the couch with a blanket and watch some TV.  Enjoy!

MJ

One thought on “Brown Rice Pudding. It’s Yummy – I Promise!”

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

