Time Out Times Two

I regret that I have been AWOL from our beautiful blog.

I usually keep things light and humorous but I have been dealing with some serious family health issues.

In the midst of the holiday season, I am watching my grandmother try as hard as she can to recover from a series of strokes, and also watching my brother-in-law fight the fight of his life against lymphoma.

My brother is currently undergoing chemo to prepare him for a stem cell transplant and I am helping my sister and her family try to keep it together to make a long story short.

In the mean time I am my grandmother’s POA and I have been needed daily at the recovery home she is at in order to assist with her recovery or well, the alternative.  She is not out of the woods, she is unable to speak but she is aware of what happened.  I believe she wants to live, and I need to support her, whatever that takes.

I need to support my sister and brother, my two nephews, my niece  and my daughter.  By support I mean being there both mentally, physically and sometimes financially.  There isn’t an amount of money that is more important to me than the well being of my family.

I haven’t run out of post ideas, but I need to “regroup” so that my posts are relevant, and most importantly do not cause secondary trauma to anyone.  It seems my mind is a bit dark, with flashes of light.  I need the light to return.

They say anyone can handle a crisis, it’s the day to day things that kill you.  I’m not dying anytime soon, and I pray, yes..I’m praying, that nobody else does either.

Hug and kiss your family.  They are all you have, unless, like me, you have your best friend who is also your family.  In that case if you can’t physically put your arms around them, let them know how much they mean to you and how much they are appreciated.  Time is all we have, and that my friends is something none of us can control.

My grandma always said:

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
The courage to change the things I can,
And the wisdom to know the difference.

Yeah, I just threw her under the bus..12 step program and all that, but she was so right.  Even if I don’t always ask “God” per se, I still say the prayer and it gives me strength.

Take care and talk with you all soon.

EmImage

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

