Crock Pot Pork Loin and Roasted Vegetables

991059-139I tweaked a recipe I found on AllRecipes.com.

1 pork loin roast
salt and pepper
coconut oil

Salt and pepper pork.
Heat 1 to 2 tablespoons of coconut oil over medium-high heat, then brown pork on all sides.
Place browned pork in the crockpot.

3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 cup red wine (I used Ménage à Trois, a California red blend.)

Mix in a small bowl and set aside.

1 head of garlic, cloves separated and peeled
1 onion, chopped

With a small knife, make little slits all over the pork and then stud the entire pork with the garlic cloves.
Spread the chopped onion over the pork.
Pour soy sauce and red wine mixture over the pork.

Cook pork on high for 4 hours.

At the end of the cooking time, I shredded the pork then let it sit in the sauce for another hour on “warm.”

For the roasted vegetables, I used:

2 small potatoes, cubed
2 small sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
1 onion, chopped
half head of cabbage, chopped
olive oil
sea salt

Preheat oven to 425F degrees.

Grease the bottom of a roasting pan with olive oil.
Spread the vegetables evenly in the roasting pan.
Drizzle olive oil and sprinkle salt on the vegetables.

Roast for about 45 minutes.

I have read in some recipes to not touch the vegetables while they are roasting, but I prefer to stir and flip with a metal spatula during the process.

About every 10 to 15 minutes, I flip the vegetables and then shake the pan to re-spread them throughout the pan. I feel this allows them to brown more evenly.

I know I really need to get my ass in gear and start taking pictures for my recipes. I think I mentioned in another post that I had to get into the habit of not leaving the kitchen when I’m cooking, because I get so distracted that I forget that I’m cooking and burn it.

I’ll just have to figure out how to do this picture thing without burning my food. I know I’ll get distracted with getting the perfect picture and my food will pay the price.

My toddler is wrestling with one of my cats. Gotta go! Hope you enjoy this recipe!

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

