Sometimes Simple Is What Hits The Spot: Baked Chicken and Mashed Potatoes

stencil2I grew up hearing my mom call it “baked chicken”, but a lot of recipes call it “roasted chicken.”

Per Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary (Eleventh Edition), bake is defined as “to cook (as food) by dry heat esp. in an oven” and roast is defined as “to cook by exposing to dry heat (as in an oven or before a fire) or by surrounding with hot embers, sand, or stones.”

So what’s the difference?  It bothers me because when I try to look up recipes on the internet, baked chicken recipes contain chicken breasts or cut-up fryers, and roasted chicken recipes contain the whole bird.  People have taken it upon themselves to define what a baked chicken is and what a roasted chicken is.

Well, I’m calling this a baked chicken.  So there.

1 4-lb. whole fryer
1 organic Gala apple, cored and chopped
1/2 organic sweet onion, chopped
olive oil
sea salt
garlic powder
rubbed sage

Before I continue, I just want to explain that I don’t list some ingredients in my recipes as organic to be an “organics” snob.  I use organic produce because that’s my personal preference for my family, but I have noticed a difference in taste in some things, especially in bananas and onions.

I’ve noticed that organic onions are way more potent.  As soon as I cut into one, I have to turn my face away quickly, else my eyes sting like a bitch.  I’ve learned to chop onions much quicker since.

So when I list organic produce or products in my recipes, it’s because that’s what I used, and I believe it may make a difference in the taste of the final product.

Anyway…

Preheat oven to 350F.

Rinse and pat dry your bird, and place it in a roasting pan.

Rub the bird down with olive oil, and stuff with the chopped apples and onions.

Sprinkle the bird with sea salt, garlic powder, and rubbed sage.

Throw in the oven for about an hour.

For the mashed potatoes…

organic russet potatoes (1 per person you are serving + 1)
organic chicken broth (Trader Joe’s brand)
2 – 4 tablespoons Kerrygold butter
1/2 – 1 cup Dubliner cheese
sea salt

Kerrygold butter and cheese can be purchased at Trader Joe’s, but I get mine at Costco for a better price.

Peel the potatoes and then cut into fourths.

Place the potatoes in a pot and cover with water.  Salt the water and boil until potatoes are tender.

Drain the potatoes and put back in the pot, but turn off the heat.

Add butter and start mashing.  Mash while adding the chicken broth a little at a time until you reach your desired consistency.

Add the cheese (to your taste) and mash until well combined.

We just ate the chicken with the potatoes, but salad would go well or any other vegetable.  Like I said though, sometimes simple is what hits the spot.

One thought on “Sometimes Simple Is What Hits The Spot: Baked Chicken and Mashed Potatoes”

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

