I Haven’t Shampooed In Almost A Year

997421-092I know.  Gross, huh?

Apparently, you don’t need shampoo in order to wash your hair.  Nor do you need creamy conditioner to make your hair soft, smooth, and manageable.

I started this experiment early last year.  I gave away all my shampoos and conditioners.  Yes, All.  I’m the type to stock up, and sometimes I would get tired of a product before I was finished and I’d buy a new one to try.  It was a little scary to start, and I cringed at the money I had just thrown away, but I gave some away to my family and donated the unopened ones to a pregnancy crisis center.

Here’s how I started.

To clean my hair, I filled up a clean, empty juice jug using the ratio:

1 tablespoon of baking soda per 1 cup of distilled water

I used the water from my fridge, but I have read that if you have soft water already, you don’t need to use distilled water.  We have super hard water here in Arizona.

I did find that this mixture worked much better after it had been sitting for at least a week.  Your hair should feel slick after pouring this on.

Directions:

In the shower, wet hair thoroughly with water.

Shake mixture well before each use.

Pour into a cup.

Slowly pour onto your head, starting near your forehead and making sure to get your temples and the top of your head.  Your main focus with this mixture is your entire scalp.

Use one cup to saturate your hair.  If you feel your hair isn’t saturated enough, then use another cup of the mixture.

Now briskly massage your scalp, like you would with any other shampoo.

Rinse your hair and scalp thoroughly.

Yes, it is tricky with the whole pouring thing, and you will have to experiment with the amount of baking soda that works well for you.  It’s worth it though.

I used to have to change shampoos frequently because my hair would get limp after a while or greasy too quickly.  None of this has happened since I’ve been washing my hair with baking soda.

Though I have to admit that recently (since last month) I did stop using baking soda.  I now only use an apple cider vinegar (ACV) and water mixture.  After almost a year of using the baking soda, my scalp started to get dry.  I have read about this happening.

The ACV mixture is working really well, so you may just go straight to using this if you want.  The only thing with using ACV is if your hair gets too greasy, then you are using too much ACV.  Just dilute it more.  Otherwise, use this mixture as your conditioner.

For any size container you may use, start with a ratio of:

1/3 ACV
3/4 distilled water

Use the same directions as you would for the baking soda mixture.

I have also read about some people going through a wonky transitional period with their hair when they switched over.  If you are used to washing your hair every day, then you may go through this transition.

To be honest, I don’t know what hair is supposed to look like going through this “transition.”  My hair did fine, but I was washing my hair every other day with shampoo when I switched over.

Currently, I can go about 5 days before I feel like I should wash my hair, and even then my hair isn’t greasy or limp.  I don’t use any hair products, and I don’t color my hair.  You may have to research what results switching over may have on your hair if you do these things.

If you have any questions about my experience with switching or comments about something I may have left out, please, feel free to use the comments section down below.

8 thoughts on “I Haven’t Shampooed In Almost A Year”

  1. Oooooooh. Very intriguing & interesting. I’m one of those people who are finicky about their hair. I don’t like ironing it or colouring it because I’m afraid doing so would damage my hair. That’s why I’m a bit hesitant on trying new when it comes to my hair. I’ll research more of this & maybe (just maybe) I’ll try it. Anyway, thanks for sharing!

    Best,
    Jhobell Kristyl
    http://bookmavenpicks.wordpress.com/

    1. I’m the same way. I’m working towards being able to wash my hair with only water. I tried in December and only lasted 3 days. Now that was totally gross.

      Plus, I haven’t put a comb or brush through my hair in almost 10 years. I have long dark hair and it just looked better – smoother and wavy. But apparently brushing and combing is the key to making washing with water work.

      So I’m down to the ACV/ water washing, and I’m brushing my hair every night. My hair is actually nicer now that all the shampoo and conditioner residues are gone. I will never go back to traditional shampoos and conditioners.

      I hope you take the chance and try it! It was scary at first for me too, but I just jumped in with both feet and haven’t regretted it. 🙂

      1. Thanks for the encouragement. Although I don’t think I’m ready yet at this moment. I need to arm myself first with more information, but reading this post of yours is a good start. Thanks again!

        1. I try to encourage people to do their own research. I did a ton of research before I started with my hair, among other things I’ll write about here. 🙂

          Come back and let me know if you do start and your experience with it. Thanks for following us!

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

