I Haven’t Used Toothpaste In Almost A Year

478459-p052EEEWWWW!!!  No shampoo is one thing.  But this?  Totally gross.  I get it.

But, hey.  There are some people that rarely brush and some that never go to the dentist.  I brush and floss every day.  And I go to the dentist every six months like clockwork.

Again, just like before I quit using shampoo and conditioner in my hair, I did a ton of research.  Instead of toothpaste, some people use just baking soda and water.  Some people use soap, namely Dr. Bronner’s.

I decided to use just water.

My teeth have never (and I mean never) felt smoother and cleaner.  My last two dental visits: Perfect.  I have even noticed that they barely have to scrape anything – just a little in those hard to reach places.

What did my dentist and hygienist say about it?  Nothing.  I probably won’t tell them until next year.  They’d probably freak and scold me, saying how my teeth will rot out of my head if I don’t use chemicals.

If you really start to think about it, everything about us (humans) pretty much has a specific purpose.  We are spectacular animals, fascinatingly built.  Regardless of your beliefs, our saliva was “designed” with a specific purpose in mind: to maintain the health of our mouth.  All the chemical processes that occur work perfectly together (most of the time) to create a very specific type of environment.

Our ancestors didn’t have toothpaste, yet we still find them with teeth attached to their heads.

But they also didn’t have refined, sugary treats and processed munchies.  Diet has a lot to do with it, too.

Within the past year, my diet has changed drastically.  I eat more fruits and vegetables and less junk food.  I don’t drink soda; I drink water flavored with a splash of juice.  I try not to eat any wheat-based foods such as bread, donuts, cookies… *sigh*

Sugars from these types of foods are what cause tooth decay, or so the studies tell us.  I happen to agree.  Our saliva has a difficult time battling the sugars from these types of foods.  Hence, our natural defenses aren’t enough, and this is where toothpastes and mouthwashes come in.

No, I’m not an expert, and I am definitely not endorsing tossing your toothpaste and mouthwash.  I do, however, encourage you to do your own research and make your own informed decision.  I am merely letting you know the results of my own experiments and my personal experiences and opinions.

Aside from the smoother feel to my teeth, I have noticed other benefits.  I don’t have to buy toothpaste.  I’ve cut out that extra step of putting on toothpaste.  I just wet my brush and pop it in my mouth.  Nice for us ADD-lazy people.  If I want to eat or drink (orange juice, anyone?) anything after I brush my teeth, there’s no weird taste.  Apparently, the dentist hasn’t noticed anything bad happening to my teeth, but we’ll see long term.

Just in case you’re wondering, I use a Braun Oral B electric toothbrush.  I use whatever floss my husband has picked up from the store.

I know my family would be brutally honest and tell me that my mouth was rank if it was.

What do you brush your teeth with?

4 thoughts on “I Haven’t Used Toothpaste In Almost A Year”

  1. I think this is fantastic! Truly fantastic.
    I use toothpaste. BUT (i have to stress a but) I am going to make my own concoction because I am anal and would just not “feel” clean if I didn’t do something. Life is in a huge hiatus right now so it’s a bad time to change things up.

    1. That’s awesome! I love concocting homemade stuff.

      I know. It’s totally weird and a little scary to go just water. 🙂 I’m an eccentric hermit-scientist at heart, so I love jumping in with both feet with my experiments on myself.

      Thanks for the follow!

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

