My Family Keeps Me Honest

995259-p09

So I went to visit my mom yesterday with my kids.  My daughter was looking at her email on my mom’s computer and reading Wednesday’s post about how I brush my teeth with only water.  My mom walked by, peered over her shoulder, and asked her, “Is that your mom’s blog?”

My mom began reading it and then said something to the effect of our ancestors’ teeth were terrible because they didn’t have toothpaste.  My daughter started to agree with her! (*sigh*  Have I taught you nothing, child?  How often is your mother wrong?)

My mom also asked me why I wasn’t sending her my blog posts.  My daughter explained that she had to sign up to receive the emails and then proceeded to help her sign up.  So my mom is going to get this post.

I research, and I love to research.  Part of that is because I am a scientist/ lab hermit at heart, and the other part is because I have parents that like to nitpick and question.  And I guess another part is, because I grew up with parents who nitpick and question me, I am inquisitive and like to question things, pushing me to research.  So thank you, Mom and Pop.  This has also caused me not to open my mouth (or write about things) without doing the proper research to back up what I am saying.

So dear readers, know this:  If you ask me to cite where I get my ideas and reasoning from, I will be more than happy to comply.

I’m not very articulate in person.  I stumble, go off on tangents, and then forget what point I was initially trying to make.  My mind wanders.  I’m not successful with getting my point across.  If asked what a movie or book is about, I have a more than difficult time explaining it.  I have read that this is a common trait among people with ADD.  If you want, I can cite that too, but I also encourage people to do their own research to figure things out.

The only handful of times that I have had clear thought and have been spectacularly articulate when speaking were when I was really angry.  My mind becomes sparkling clear when I’m really pissed, which doesn’t happen often.  Otherwise, I am better about organizing my thoughts when I have time to write them out.

So this post is for my mom.  And my daughter.  I love you both.

Sure, you will find opposing schools of thought and research, but that’s science.  I’m on this side of the debate.  Here are a few articles:

Anthropologist examines Neanderthal teeth

“Early humans’ teeth were healthy – dental disease wasn’t problematic until the sugar trade…”

Periodontal disease and dental caries from Krapina Neanderthal to contemporary man – skeletal studies.

“The number (percentage) of decayed teeth was 0 (0%, n=281 teeth) in KN [Krapina Neanderthal], 15 (1.7%; n=860 teeth) in 1st century, 24 (3.4%; n=697 teeth) in 10th century, and 207 (11.9%, n=1741 teeth) in 20th century.”

Teeth in earlier human populations

“The rough nature of the food consumed by earlier man, especially before Neolithic times, helped to dislodge food particles as well as stimulating vigorous mastication. It also seems likely that, with harder food, the actual time spent daily in chewing would be greater in these earlier peoples. If Neumann & DiSalvo (1957) are right in suggesting that chewing compression changes the enamel structure and increases resistance to caries, then their view may also help to explain early man’s relative immunity to caries.

The last straw, as far as British populations are concerned, was the introduction of sugar in the 12th century, and refined white flour in the 19th. Indeed, we are led to the painful conclusion that if we had been content to chip flints and keep away from foreign trade our teeth would have been healthier for it.”

So I ask: if early humans’ mouths were so terrible, why do archeologists have this to work with

Neanderthal dental tartar reveals evidence of medicine

and not this?

How Does Plaque Cause A Cavity?

Is toothpaste and mouthwash so necessary if one has the proper diet, brushes and flosses every day, and goes to the dentist on a regular basis?

Sure pre-humans had plaque build up but, considering they didn’t go to the dentist to get it scraped off, their teeth didn’t fall out of their head for the most part.  I’d say the main factor here is diet.  I’m no expert of course.  Just my 2 cents.

My family keeps me honest, and I am thankful for it.  Besides, I’m a terrible liar; I can barely keep my day-to-day things straight in my head.  Thanks ADD.

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

