Mustard Brown Sugar Glazed Salmon

My husband loves this.  My daughter likes to make it also.  I like it when SHE makes it too!  It’s actually pretty simple, you can omit the ginger and just use some black pepper.  I don’t use the ginger that often.
3 tablespoons light brown sugar
1 tablespoon honey
2 tablespoons butter
1/4 cup Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon finely grated ginger
Vegetable oil
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
8 salmon fillets, 6 ounces eachDirections
Melt the brown sugar, honey and butter in a small pan over medium-high heat. Remove from the heat and whisk in the mustard, soy sauce, olive oil and ginger. Let cool.Preheat grill to medium heat. Brush salmon with vegetable oil and season with salt and pepper to taste. Place the salmon skin side down on the grill. Coat the flesh of the salmon fillets with the brown sugar mixture.
Grill for 6 to 8 minutes until medium done, turning once after 5 to 6 minutes.
I have also made this in the oven.  I marinated the salmon for about 15 minutes.  You don’t need to marinate salmon very long at all, as the meat is tender  and sucks up the marinade really fast, especially at room temp.
350 in the oven until salmon flakes.  I like to serve this with simple sides like asparagus and roasted potatoes, or a salad and jasmine rice.  My daughter likes it when I slice garlic really fine and fry the garlic in grape seed oil mixed with a little toasted sesame oil until crispy, then I fry cilantro until crispy after I remove the garlic.  Drain the oil off on a paper towel and sprinkle it over the rice.  Crispy fried garlic and cilantro..it can go on anything!
Image
Enjoy!
Em
2 thoughts on “Mustard Brown Sugar Glazed Salmon”

  1. I hate cooking but can’t wait to try this! Usually buy marinated salmon at Costco, then nuke it but this sounds healthier and kind of fun.

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

