It’s Spring In Seattle..and SNOWING!

Image

Yep! I said snow!  Oh, it’s also 29 DEGREES!!  WTH!  I’m done complaining though.  I LOVE a good storm, wind, rain, thunder and lightning, hail, snow.  Unfortunately we don’t get good storms too often, but we’ve had quite the week for wind and rain.  Now the snow is here.

This picture is from today, off of the news, so it’s not just a pic of “snow in Seattle” it’s real time.

It’s not that unusual for us to experience snow later in the year.  In April of 2008 we had snow and June we had snow in the mountains, foothills even.  We had a cold snap June of 2008.  2008 was kind of crazy for us.  Last year we had an ice storm to rival all ice storms across the country.  We lost so many trees it was unreal.

During the ice storm 200,000 people were without power, at least one person died and our Gov. declared a state of emergency.  It was very surreal.  The snow makes everything so quiet.  When we went outside, the sound of the tree branches cracking and falling sounded like bombs going off, EVERYWHERE.  We had to be extremely careful where we stood.  I don’t want ANY trees in my yard over 6 feet now.  They scare me.

We’ll see what happens today.  It should warm up into the upper 40’s by noon.  I’m supposed to drive into Seattle, almost 50 miles away today..wish me luck.

No worries though, if it gets too bad I won’t risk it.

Happy Spring!!  Let it snow, let it..ohh whatever, just give me some SUN!!

Em

5 thoughts on “It’s Spring In Seattle..and SNOWING!”

  1. I am in Michigan and it’s snowing… While this seems like a “duh” sort of statement- I just got here from Boise where it was glorious- so I’m still obviously disappointed…
    Hope you get a little sunshine soon!

  2. Bleh. I finally broke down and shaved my legs yesterday. It’s been in the upper 80s here lately. But, hey, it’s supposed to cool down to the upper 70s in a couple of days! Yay! :\

  3. Hunker down and live it up Em! I am in Colorado and I love the storms too. I am not like you in one respect though…I will be whining like an overworked mule when the heat hits! I do love the nature though…so yes, I’ll be out and about in it. I foiled myself again!

    1. LOL!! I don’t like a lot of heat, but I’ll take the upper 50’s any day! lol..upper 50’s anywhere else and everyone is bundled up, here we are in shorts and T-shirts..it’s like a treat! Take Care! Have fun in Colorado!

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

