Part 2: One Of My Greatest Parenting Struggles

995860-0563. What is one of your greatest parenting/life-balance struggles from the past, and how did you overcome it?

One of my greatest parenting struggles in the past was knowing in my gut that pulling my kids out of school was the right thing to do, even though my family clearly voiced their concerns.  When it’s just you in this endeavor, the pressure to second-guess yourself and believe that maybe you are making a huge mistake is overwhelming.  Even I grew up thinking that homeschooling circles were only comprised of religious weirdos and that public school was the only option.

After five years of homeschooling, meeting with homeschooling groups, and going to the annual homeschooling convention, I have yet to meet any religious weirdos.  All I have met are amazing parents that want to provide a better education for their children than what they feel public schools offer – either based upon personal reasons and/ or learning needs.  In my case, my kids’ different learning needs (dyslexia, ADD, and dysgraphia) were not being met.

 So I stuck to my guns and found that my kids can receive a better education out of the public school system.  I am very lucky to have such a supportive husband that agrees our kids are much better off being homeschooled – and my family is onboard now, too.  I also found that there are many great resources and support groups available for parents that are interested in homeschooling but are unsure if homeschooling is a viable option for them.

Next Friday – Part 3: Favorite Child-Oriented Products

2 thoughts on “Part 2: One Of My Greatest Parenting Struggles”

  1. I hear you! I have gone all kinds of ‘feedback’ from out decision to pull the kids out. Ours comes from a desire to meet there needs on the gifted end of the spectrum. But the challenge is still there. If the school wasn’t meeting the need, then why leave them there? It’s hard, but rewarding, too. Good luck!

    1. Thanks! Good luck to you, too!

      lol Yeah, gotta love that everyone has some type of “feedback” for you about choosing homeschooling.

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

