Fish Sauce is SO YUMMY!! REALLY!

Yeah, I know, fish sauce?

Well, if it is mixed correctly it is the nectar of the gods.  My daughter loves this mixture and puts it on everything.

It can be used as a dip, a marinade or to pour over rice or noodles.  You can add it to a stir fry or anything you want to have a sweet tangy Asian flair.

First you will need a high quality fish sauce.  The base is not diluted and smells extremely pungent of fish.  Anchovies are usually used for this liquid.  It has the consistency of water, so it’s not a thick sauce.  I like the 3 Crab brand or Thai Kitchen brand is good too.

In a bowl combine

1 minced chili, like serrano

2 cloves garlic

3 tbsp sugar

2/3 cup water

1 1/2 tbsp lime or lemon juice

finely shredded carrot, about 1/4 of the carrot

tbsp chopped green onion

5 tbsp fish sauce

Mix well to dissolve the sugar.

refrigerated for flavors to mingle..or whatever.

Sometimes I use some honey also.  It depends on how sweet or tangy you want it.  I have used rice wine vinegar if I don’t have lime or lemon juice also.

I also add a ton of fresh cilantro.  Can’t get enough cilantro.Image

It is WONDERFUL!!

7 thoughts on “Fish Sauce is SO YUMMY!! REALLY!”

    1. A dip..or condiment used mainly in Vietnamese cuisine. The base is fish sauce as pictured. This specific mixture is a traditional Vietnamese condiment used in many ways. Like pouring it over rice or a dip for traditional Vietnamese egg rolls. You would need to taste it I guess if you don’t understand ..sorry if it’s confusing.

        1. Oh good! I thought I TOTALLY screwed up..LOL! I’m not good enough to make the actual fish sauce. I guess because their is no english translation that makes it hard too! Take care!

          1. No! It’s my old brain! The title of the post confused me. I saw how they make fish sauce on No Reservations. It’s a nasty, smelly fermentation process!

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

