My Dad The Artist

scarf

My dad is amazing.  He is my step-dad only because he came into my life when I was 11.  Other than that he is MY DAD!  He has been there for me through everything.  Even the things that happened before he was my dad.  He couldn’t have come at a better time.  Without him I don’t know where I would be today.  He gave me love, tough love when I needed it and safety.  He has given me more than I could possibly list, most importantly he became my father.

Now my dad is NOT someone you would mess with.  He is a big guy and when he get’s angry he looks like he is going to eat you for dinner.  He’s a Harley man, a Vietnam Vet, and has been at his job for 40 years!  A long time ago he showed me a photo of him from when he came back from Vietnam.  He had long black hair and looked like … well again, he would eat you for dinner.  It was his experiences and wisdom that helped me become a police officer.  He wasn’t real excited to have his daughter out there in the line of fire, but he supported me no matter what.  A certain relative saw me as the “enemy” and having my family, especially my dad back me up was really what I needed to make it.  Dig deep, pull myself up by my boot straps and conquer the world!

My dad makes fairy wings, scarves, pottery, and sculptures.  Yes, I said fairy wings.  I don’t have a pic of them with me right now, but they are AMAZING!  They are huge, he made a type of harness to attach them to your shoulders and back.  The way he made them actually makes you feel like you have wings!  When you move, they move with you.  I wear a pair every Halloween and every time someone asks where I got them.  I tell them “My dad made them.”  They always look at me wide eyed and sometimes laugh.  I am often asked how much they are.  I am so in love with the wings, there are only 3, that I can’t give them up.  I’m like “Sorry, you can’t have them.”  I should apologize to all of those little kids this year..lol.

My dad  recently made me a scarf that is more like a stole.  He made it on a loom.  He even made the loom!  I love this and wear it ALL of the time.  He has made about 4 or 5 of these particular ones, and there is nothing out there like them.

He also made this dragonfly (pic) and a few other dragonflies for their yard.  He used chicken wire, a mixture of cement and a lot of imagination.  The end of the tail is actually a Swarovski crystal.  They are really beautiful.

I am so proud of my dad.  A man of many talents. 

The best one is being a father to his kids.

Thanks Dad, I love you!

Em

2 thoughts on “My Dad The Artist”

  1. I love this story. A dad that gives love and safety to his family grows secure children. Secure children can face anything with strength and confidence. I also love the idea of fairy wings.

    1. I’ve seen Em’s dad’s stuff, and it is amazing. I’m always bummed that I can’t drag some home in my luggage. Their front yard looks so magical with all the plants they sculpt and train and all the decorations.

      One year he made this goblin, and I wanted it SO bad for my yard!

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

