My Mom’s OK Thanks To My DAD!

My mom is pretty cool.  She has a dry sense of humor.  She’s definitely NOT your ordinary mother.  But that’s another post.

The other day she was taking her vitamin capsules and choked.  Aren’t vitamins supposed to be healthy? Anyways my dad came to her rescue and did the Heimlich.  It didn’t work.  He cracked her ribs.

Then she’s still choking, no sound, and he drags her into the bathroom where he stuck his fingers down her throat and pulled the jelled up capsules out.

WOW!

My mom said she thought she was a gonner..  all jokes aside I can only imagine how scared she must have been.  Actually, I choked once and it sucked big time.  Apparently I’ve choked as a  child and my grandma saved me with the Heimlich.  I’m glad I don’t remember.

Oh then I choked on a pretzel at my grandpa’s store while I was hanging out when my mom was working there … back in “the day”.  I remember my mom taking the piece out.  She could see it.  I remember her pulling it out and choking but I don’t remember any fear or pain.  I was about 3 years old.

My mom is a trooper.  She said it was scary, and 3 days later went to work out … with BROKEN ribs.  Only HER!

I’m really happy my mom is ok.  THAT would have been BAD, to put it mildly.

I’m not surprised my dad broke her ribs.  She’s really little and he must’ve totally freaked out.  We were joking that 15 or 20 years ago he would have pondered what to do, for a LONG time … lol!  NOT funny dad, well kinda funny!

Em

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

