How Do You Iron Without Strangling Someone With The Cord?

I hate you, Iron.  I hate you so much.
I hate you, Iron. I hate you so much.

I was ironing this morning.  My husband has an interview this week, and he needed a shirt ironed, to go with his suit.

I hate ironing.  With a passion.

I tried to pass it off on my oldest daughter last week, but, being a teenager, she conveniently kept forgetting to do it.  So I did it today.

It’s not that I don’t know how to iron.  I do.  My mom taught me, and I did it in Home Economics class in 7th grade.  Do they even still have Home Ec class?  I just found out the other day that Health class in Jr. High isn’t a requirement anymore.  Sad.

Anyway, I know how to iron.  Maybe it’s my OCD nature that makes me hate ironing.  You know those irrational thoughts, “If I don’t get this one wrinkle out, something bad will happen.”  And getting every single wrinkle out is completely impossible.  You iron one sleeve, then the other.  You look back at the first sleeve, after you’ve ironed part of the shirt, and it doesn’t look so cleanly pressed anymore.  That drives me C R A Z Y.  So, yeah, I iron it again.  I’m a perfectionist, so that doesn’t help either.

Do you see why I hate ironing so much?

My mom irons my dad’s shirts for work all the time.  She watches TV while doing it.  I’m sure most wives can accomplish this feat.  Not me.  How she has the patience to iron that huge stack of shirts is beyond me.  Maybe it’s relaxing for some women.  I don’t know.

I rarely have to iron though.  I’m just complaining.  Do you like ironing?  If you do, why?

10 thoughts on “How Do You Iron Without Strangling Someone With The Cord?”

    1. I do the same! I also don’t buy clothes that require dry cleaning. I normally just wear jeans and a tank top, or a comfy, cotton-y summer dress. I just like to keep things simple! 🙂

  1. In the entire time I’ve been married (a year and a half) I have ironed for myself twice, and my husband not at all. He’s better at it than I am. He can do it himself. 🙂

    1. lol I’ve been married for almost 8 years now, and I don’t think I’ve ever ironed anything for myself. For my husband, I’ve ironed maybe twice.

      If he were better than me at ironing, I’d have him do it, too. Unfortunately, I think he’d have less patience than I do with it. 🙂

  2. I hate ironing. I have to agree that it must be the OCD that makes it more difficult. My mother-in-law irons her husband’s shirts everyday. I know my husband probably questions why I don’t do that for him. He is forced to wear shirts with wrinkles everyday, but he should just be happy I even have time to wash his shirts. A clean shirt is better than one with wrinkles.

    1. lol Well said. I’m lucky my husband doesn’t care normally, as long as it’s clean. He’d wear tattered shirts, if I didn’t throw them away. He just needed one ironed shirt for the interview. 🙂

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

