The “Screw Expensive Tools. Use Crap Around Your Home.” Series

Em will be doing some guest posts on my other blog, Girly Grr. If you are interested in following this short series of posts, you’ll have to go there for the rest of the series. I’ll only be reblogging this intro here. 🙂

Girly Grr

IMG_2994

Have you seen all the nice, fancy, new-fangled tools that are out there for jewelry-making?  The pictures look so pretty, but do you really need them, especially if you’re just starting out?

Absolutely not.

I’ve been making jewelry for a little over 5 years now, and I am still using the same POS set of red-handled pliers that you can buy at Michaels.  I think they are about $14.99 or maybe less, and I think I may have even used one of their 40% off coupons when I bought them.

Nice pliers, and even not so nice pliers, can run you more than $20.  EACH.  Not even for a set.

And what about when you want to start making your own findings, like what I’m trying to do right now?  Or what about the tools you supposedly need for creating more complicated jewelry, like rings and wire-wrapping?  For the most part…

View original post 134 more words

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

