baked, crispy, parmesan, zucchini, rounds

Is It Baked Parmesan Zucchini or Zucchini Parmesan… Err… Rounds?

baked, crispy, parmesan, zucchini, rounds
Baked Crispy, Parmesan-Encrusted Zucchini Rounds

And is it chips, rounds, crisps, or coins?  I will call mine “Rounds.”  No.  I will call them “Crispy Rounds,” as they are crisp but not chips and not small, like coins.

How about this:  Baked Crispy, Parmesan-Encrusted Zucchini Rounds?  I mean, it’s not the parmesan that’s round; it’s the zucchini.

Anyway, I used to fry these.  It was all complicated, took forever, and I absolutely hated making them.  I’d whisk an egg, then add milk.  I’d dredge the zucchini rounds through a mixture of parmesan, italian herbs, and garlic powder, and fry them in coconut oil.

It was such a pain in the ass.

Plus, they came out nowhere near as crispy as the new method and recipe.  Once I’d drop them in the oil, half the flavoring would fall off and float away.

My family loves these, though, and were asking for me to make them the other day.  I remembered reading awhile ago about a recipe to bake the zucchini.  I was suspicious of the claims that it would come out crispy.  So I did a search and picked the recipe with the most positive ratings.  I followed the recipe exactly.

I burnt them.

What the fuck?  Yes, I said this as I opened the oven door and peeked inside, 20 minutes into the 25 to 30 minutes the recipe called for.

So I redid the recipe my way.

Baked Crispy, Parmesan Encrusted Zucchini Rounds

1/2 cup parmesan*
1 tablespoon italian seasoning**
1 tablespoon garlic powder***
1 zucchini, sliced into 1/8- to 1/4-inch rounds
Olive oil

I used *the so-not-good-for-you parmesan in the green can, **McCormick’s Gourmet Collection Tuscan Style Italian Seasoning, and ***McCormick’s Gourmet Collection Course Grind Garlic Powder with Parsley.  I will probably use fresh, grated parmesan next time, as the green-can variety is a bit too salty for me.

I don’t add a lot of salt to my food, so my tastes may be different from yours.  If it’s not salty enough, you can always shake some salt on afterwards.

Preheat oven to 425F degrees.

Pour about 1/4 cup of olive oil into a small bowl.

Mix the parmesan, italian seasoning, and garlic powder into another small bowl.

Thinly coat a foil-lined baking sheet with olive oil.

Dip each zucchini round into the olive oil, making sure to let the excess drip off or tap it off.  Then coat each round in the parmesan mixture, pressing the round into the mix to ensure thorough coating.

Place coated zucchini rounds onto the baking sheet in a single layer.

Bake for 15 minutes, give or take 5 minutes, depending on your oven.

Using a metal spatula, immediately, place baked zucchini rounds onto some paper towels to cool.

Eat by themselves or dipped in some ranch dressing, or dip of your choice!  Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Is It Baked Parmesan Zucchini or Zucchini Parmesan… Err… Rounds?”

    1. lol I still hate making these. They’re just not as annoying to make anymore. So no, I don’t deliver, and I’ll still probably only make these once in a great while. 😉

    1. Thanks for visiting, ZaCook! Your zucchini lasagna recipe looks awesome. I am definitely going to try it.
      Come back and let us know how the zucchini rounds turn out for you! 🙂

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

