It’s Super Easy To Catch Gophers. Yes, I’m Serious.

If you’re looking for info on how to catch and not kill gophers, I can’t help you.  Sorry.

If it makes anyone feel any better, I let all the cute, furry creatures (that love to destroy my garden and property) romp around at the back of my property and beyond.  I also don’t use poison.

It’s a quick death.

Maybe.

Anyway, since my hubby has been too busy with work and school, I’ve put myself in charge of a lot of the property upkeep.

Since I started gardening again – I just planted a crap-load of roses! – I’ve been more aware of all the critters roaming around.  I’ll be preparing a vegetable garden soon, too, so I needed to figure out how to control these critters.

So far, I’ve tried twice to catch gophers, and both times I’ve been successful.

Now I’m not claiming to be an expert.  But if I’m able to even catch one, anyone is capable.

Let’s get started!

1.  Tamp or stomp down every mound on your property, or in the area you want to focus on.

This ensures you will recognize a new mound, which is key.

I’d show you a photo of a new mound, but this gopher decided to dig out the side of a hole I had dug the previous day for a bareroot rose.

I noticed fresh dirt at the bottom of the hole, so I shoveled out the dirt and easily found the hole.

2.  The next day, check for a fresh mound.

The dirt will be looser than the surrounding dirt, and may be darker in color.

3.  Start digging.

Dig straight down into the mound, about a shovel-head length deep, like you’re digging a hole to plant something.

4.  Search for its tunnel.

gopher tunnel entrance

The entrance to its tunnel may or may not be apparent right away.

With your hands, brush around the sides of the hole you dug with gentle pressure until dirt starts falling away easily, revealing the entrance.

Be patient.  It won’t be that deep.  You’ll find it.

5.  Place your trap.

victor blackbox gopher trap

I use The BlackBox GopherTrap by Victor.

Set your trap per the product’s instructions, then shove the open end up against the tunnel entrance.

(Yes, I know the trap in the photo is not set.)

6.  Cover trap.

Bury the trap with loose soil, but make sure no sunlight will penetrate.

Do not tamp or stomp down on the soil, as that may trigger the trap or disturb the placement.

7.  Check the trap the next day.

Okay, you’re probably wondering what time of day you should be placing and checking the trap.

A lot of the info I read stated early morning and early evening as the best times for placing, then just check the next day.

That’s up to you.

With a rambunctious toddler and a new Shepherd puppy, not to mention all the other wife- and mother-ly duties I have around the house, I have to make do with whatever time I’m allowed.

Both instances I placed traps, I placed them mid-day, and I caught something both times.  The first catch I checked mid-day the next day, and the second catch I checked the next morning.

dead gopher using victor blackbox trap

Ha!  Gotcha!

Dispose of gopher, then repeat previous steps as needed.

Good Luck!

6 thoughts on “It’s Super Easy To Catch Gophers. Yes, I’m Serious.”

    1. Thanks for visiting! I loved your post. 🙂

      This is the first way I’ve tried to catch gophers. Do you have any other suggestions?

        1. Ah, okay. I thought maybe you had a more creative/ entertaining/ efficient way to trap them. 🙂

          We’re lucky, as we’ve only discovered a few. Other neighbors have complained they are infested.

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?