Homemade Natural Deodorant That Works

100_2271Well, it works for me. I was pretty stinky for a few months recently. At least, I could smell my slight muskiness. No one else complained. My mother would have definitely mentioned it as she tends to be more than brutally honest at times.

On my quest to rid as many chemicals as possible from my home, I quit using my normal deodorant immediately. Threw it out.

Then I tried a few different brands of “all natural” deodorants. They all sucked. Big time.

So I tried to use a combination of baking soda and corn starch, applying it with my fingers. That made a huge mess. I tried applying it with a make-up brush. Coverage was better but still made a mess. And I didn’t like inhaling the stuff.

Aside from the mess, it didn’t work that well.

I did a little research on the internet and finally came up with a recipe to try. Thankfully, my first attempt at making my own deodorant worked, and it’s not difficult at all to make.

Here’s what you’ll need:

A new or cleaned-out deodorant container
1/4 cup baking soda
1/4 cup corn starch
1/4 cup coconut oil
10 – 12 drops tea tree essential oil
3 – 5 drops lemongrass essential oil (or whatever scent you choose)

In a small saucepan on low heat, mix together all ingredients until incorporated.

Allow to cool but not enough for the coconut oil to solidify if it’s cool in your house.

Poor into empty deodorant container.

Learn from my mistakes:

1. Store in fridge.

Yeah, I know. It’s weird to have your deodorant in your fridge, right? Well, unless you keep your home below 75F degrees, you’ll have to store it in the fridge. The coconut oil will melt otherwise.

You could probably add beeswax to keep it solidified, but I don’t know the proportions to use. You would have to experiment.

2. Don’t slather it on.

Once your body heat starts to melt the coconut oil, you may accidentally find yourself with really oily armpits. One swipe per portion of skin should do the trick. Experiment to find what works for you.

3. Sometimes the baking soda will cake in your armpit.

I’m still using my first batch, so I may not have stirred it over the heat enough. I’ve only noticed a few “crumbs” once in a while.

Be cautious of your allergies/ sensitivities and of others’.

I have read of some people having a reaction to the baking soda. That may be due to the process by which the baking soda was procured. Just do a Google search.

The reactions I have read about are usually rashes and dryness. There are recipes out there that do not use baking soda and have worked just as effectively for some people.

Some people may have a reaction to particular essential oils.

I hope this works for you as well as it has worked for me. I’m no longer stinky!

If your body is used to chemical-based deodorants, your pits may take some time to adjust. I went a couple months without using anything, so my body adjusted quickly. Diet helps as well with how much you stink.

Let me know how this works for you!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Natural Deodorant That Works”

    1. That’s awesome! I love hearing about others who have tried this and had it work just as well for them.

      I love being able to make stuff at home and not have to spend money; plus no chemicals! 🙂

      Thanks for the visit and for following!

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

