It’s A New Year!

Vintage Holiday Cuts by Leslie Carbarga, p.3

So I didn’t do any writing these past two weeks.  I did, however, get to play my DS games (I got 3 for Christmas!) and spend lots of time with my family.  I let my teens have the full two weeks off of school, and my husband took two weeks off of work.

I also spent some time thinking about our blog and the changes I wanted to make.  I spent some time thinking about my personal goals for the year, too.

We’re going to try to have some set days for certain topics with Friday being a random topic day.  I’m going to be playing around with the organization of the blog, so you have been warned – it may look funky at times.

I’m taking a new approach to my family’s health in the eating department.  I think I went too extreme last year by trying to go completely grain-, corn-, canola oil-, and refined sugar-free, among other things.  Yes, now I see why my teens would over-indulge themselves with baked goods and junk food at my parents’ and my sister’s houses.

I told them the other day that we would start with gluten-free as our goal… for now.  And I found a couple of amazing recipes last week that I can’t wait to share: Pepperoni Pizza and Banana Bread.  We actually made the Pepperoni Pizza recipe twice last week.  It was that good, and my teens loved it.  So now they are on board with our slightly modified diet.

In case you weren’t aware, we are on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.  We try to post odd and interesting things covering food, crafts, gardening, homemade/ handmade stuff, and other topics that coincide with what we talk about here on our blog.  Come check us out!

So what did you do over the holidays?

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

