Cast Iron Skillet Grain and Gluten Free Pizza

This was amazing.

And it was a great way to introduce my teens to gluten-free homemade foods that aren’t weird or gross. They are thoroughly convinced now and are on board with our modified diet.

We used store-bought pizza sauce. I wasn’t in the mood to cook, so my husband and oldest daughter made this recipe.

Just a note though. The dough won’t be your typical “dough” consistency. It sticks to your fingers, and there’s no way around it. Just keep at it. It will totally be worth it in the end.

We made this twice last week, and everyone was fighting over leftovers. Yes, it was that good.

The Domestic Man

NOTE: An updated version of this recipe appears in my cookbook, The Ancestral Table.

For a dairy free variation, check out my Flatbread recipe.

Like most residents of planet Earth, I’m pizza crazy. I’d like to say that my love affair started with those pesky Ninja Turtles, but I have a feeling that I was addicted well before the heroes in a half shell became popular. When adopting Paleo, I was probably worried about a lack of pizza the most, and after re-introducing dairy I tried all sorts of things, from frozen GF crusts to eggplant pizzas. Finally, I hunkered down and developed a gluten and grain free pizza crust of my own, and after several failed attempts, I’m happy to say that you will love this pizza.

Do I really need to provide a food history for pizza? Okay, since you asked so nicely. Pizza is…

View original post 771 more words

One thought on “Cast Iron Skillet Grain and Gluten Free Pizza”

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

