I Haven’t Used Facial Soap In Over Two Months

480127-004Guess what I’m using?  I’ll give you a hint: it’s the same thing I use to brush my teeth with.

Yup.  Water.

Just like I did with shampoos and conditioners, I used to love to buy the newest facial cleansers and moisturizers.  Olay, Neutrogena, The Body Shop…  I actually used to sell Body Shop stuff when they had that program.  I hated it.  Doing the home parties, I mean.  But, man, did I love getting those orders!

I’d get a big box on my front doorstep, open it up, and it was like Christmas.  I never made any money because everything I made, I spent on products.  Hey, I got an awesome discount, plus, I got free stuff all the time.

Yeah, I thought I’d try being a people person for awhile.  Didn’t work out.  I’ve tried it a few times, and it never works out.  Body Shop consultant, neighborhood BlockWatch leader, Brownie Scout host… Once in awhile I get this bug up my ass and get these crazy thoughts that I can be sociable.  Then I snap back into reality, shake those ridiculous thoughts from my head, and cozy up into my hermit blanket again.

I even tried to go to nursing school once.  I lasted about a month.  I did back-flips over my classmates’ math scores, but I consistently failed my bedside manner tests while everyone was acing theirs.  So I quit and enrolled back into my lab hermit lifestyle: organic chemistry.

Sorry.  Going way off on a tangent.

Anyway, I’m no stranger to facial products.  The last product I used was Burt’s Bees.  But on my quest for a simpler lifestyle, I thought, “What the hell.  I’ll try water.”

Here’s my facial cleansing and moisturizing regimen:

In the shower, after I’ve been in the steam awhile, I take a washcloth and soak it in the hot water.

I gently massage my face in a circular motion with the hot washcloth.

Then I “rinse” my face in the shower spray.

After I get out of the shower, I massage a mixture of coconut oil and tea tree essential oil into my face to moisturize.  I just took a heaping tablespoon of coconut oil, put it in a container, and then added about 3 drops of tea tree essential oil to it.

And I’m done!

It’s working so far.  I still get a small zit once in awhile, but I was getting more than that when using store-bought stuff.  And I’m washing my face only every other day to every two days.

By no means, do I have perfect skin.  I used to get break-outs.  I even tried that oil cleansing method.  That may work for some people, but I started getting deep zits on my cheeks – of all places!

So we’ll see how this works long term.  It’s only been a couple of months.  I’m thinking about adding honey to my routine as I’ve been reading about people using it and some getting awesome results.  Here’s a little info from one site: CrunchyBetty.com.

But cheap-ass me is thinking, “Water is free.  It’s working.  Wait until your face retaliates, then try it.”  I may try it as a spot treatment.

I’ll keep you posted!

Note: No, I don’t wear make-up.  BUT I have read that using oil, such as coconut oil, is a great make-up remover.

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?

