mosquito, dead, best

How To Naturally Treat Mosquito Bites

mosquito, dead, best

I hate mosquitoes.  Whenever I see them, it makes me think of a bunch of dirty needles.

What the hell do these digusting little fuckers offer to the world?  Somebody, please, set me straight.  I hate ants, too, but I understand what purpose they hold.  They aerate the soil and dispose of rotting corpses.  They probably do some other important stuff, but I still kill them.  They can go be helpful elsewhere, off of my property.

Mosquitoes, however, are useless and annoying, and especially just gross, in my eyes.

We’ve had a problem with mosquitoes at this new house.  Apparently, it’s not normally this bad, so say the long-time residents.  They say to expect a few after irrigation, but that’s it.

Well, we have swarms.  I mean epic swarms.  Swarms like as soon as you go outside, you’re running around like a crazy person, arms flailing above your head, hopping all over the place.

Have you ever seen the movie Lilo and Stitch?  If you have, do you remember the part when Pleakley watches as millions of mosquitoes blanket his whole body and face?

Here’s the clip from the movie:  Pleakley and Mosquitoes.

Yeah.  That’s what happened to my son, when he tried to mow the yard last week.  Super gross.

If you’ve been reading this blog for a bit, you know by now that I love to experiment, because I am trying to move away from chemical-ly, store-bought crap.  So I hopped on the computer and did some research about natural remedies for mosquito bites.

Turns out everybody and their mom has their own natural, homemade remedy for mosquito bites.

Here’s mine:

1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon Aztec Indian Healing Clay (It’s bentonite clay.  I bought mine at Sprouts for about $6.)
Equal amount of apple cider vinegar
Sunflower oil

Mix clay and vinegar thoroughly, until you reach a mayonnaise consistency.  Fizzing is normal.

Dab some of this mixture onto your mosquito bites, until covered.

Let dry completely, then wipe off with a damp cloth.

Rub in some sunflower oil.

Almost immediately after I dabbed this on my mosquito bite, I felt the itching stop.  It didn’t itch until later that night, and this was after one application in the morning.  My toddler was scratching the crap out of one of the bites on her leg.  Once I applied the clay, and then the oil, she didn’t bother with her bite until bedtime.

The best part:  Her bite was gone the next day.

I did notice, however, that this combo works best on new bites.  The bite on my daughter’s leg was brand new when I treated it.  My bite was a day or two old, so it didn’t go away completely the next day, but it was considerably better.

The mosquitoes we have this time around (as I did get rid of the first batch I wrote about in my post Bring It On, Mosquitoes!) bite like a mother-effer.  I barely got bit last time, but these bites hurt.  It does feel like I’m getting jabbed with a needle.  And they turn purple, even when I don’t scratch them!

I’ve read that bentonite clay works on everything from bites to zits, and who knows what else.  It’s supposed to draw out the crap in your skin, as it dries.  All I know is I found my go-to recipe for mosquito bites.

Try it, and let me know if it works for you!  Or tell us about your own homemade mosquito bite recipe!

4 thoughts on “How To Naturally Treat Mosquito Bites”

  1. Thank you so much for linking my post. 🙂 This is great. If only I could get my hands on the ingredients! I love your style of writing. I shall be following from here on in! Thanks again

    1. Thanks for visiting and following! You can get the bentonite clay on Amazon, or order it through another website. I’m sure you could find it in Japan. Try looking for some place that carries beauty products. Also, the sunflower oil can be found in the cooking section of a grocery store, with all the other oils. 🙂

      1. Thanks MJ. Would you believe I’ve never purchased anything on Amazon!? But I will try looking in the drug stores for bentonite clay. I can get my hands on sunflower oil easily alright. Thanks for the suggestions. 🙂

Comments? Questions? Personal Story?